Print this page

Celebrity Domain Name Actions

  • Jason Bateman: Actor Jason Bateman recovered the domain name www.jasonbateman.com through a UDRP arbitration on January 9, 2008. The panel found that Jason Bateman had acquired rights to the JASON BATEMAN mark through his motion picture and television career. (NAF Claim No: FA0711001114949)

    Click to Visit our Sponsor - Internet Law Firm
  • Michael Bloomberg: Financier and politician Michael Bloomberg was unable to recover the domain name www.michaelbloombergsucks.com in a UDRP action. The UDRP panel found that Bloomberg had failed to show bad faith when the disputed domain was being used in connection with a free speech website. (NAF Claim No: FA0104000097077)

  • Gisele Bundchen: Supermodel Gisele Bundchen recovered the domain name www.giselebundchen.com through a UDRP action. The panel found that Gisele had used the GISELE BUNDCHEN mark in connection with her extensive modeling career since the mid-1990s and had gained trademark rights accordingly. (NAF Claim No: FA0812001237167)

  • George Hamilton: Television and film actor and director George Hamilton recovered the domain name www.georgehamilton.com through a UDRP action. The panel found that Hamilton had used the GEORGE HAMILTON mark in connection with his extensive film and television acting and directing careerand had gained trademark rights accordingly. (NAF Claim No: FA0904001259771)

  • Kate Hudson: Film actress Kate Hudson, daughter of famed actress Goldie Hawn, recovered the domain name www.katehudson.com through a UDRP action. The panel found that Hudson had established common law trademark rights in the KATE HUDSON mark through her long and continuous use of the mark. (NAF Claim No: FA0910001290319)

  • Paul McCartney: Renowned singer Paul McCartney recovered the domain names www.paul-mccartney.com, www.paul-mccartney.net and www.sirpaulmccartney.com in UDRP actions. The UDRP panel found that McCartney was the exclusive owner of the trademark rights to the mark SIR PAUL MCCARTNEY and was one of the most well-known and recognizable celebrities in the world. (NAF Claim No: FA0104000097086)

  • Jerry Seinfeld: On April 22, 2008 comedian Jerry Seinfeld filed a UDRP action to recover the domain name www.jerryseinfeld.com. While the UDRP action was withdrawn, the parties evidently reached some sort of settlement because the domain name is now registered to Seinfeld's management company.

  • Kevin Spacey: Film and stage actor Kevin Spacey was able to recover the domain name www.kevinspacey.com from notorious cybersquatter John Zuccarini. The panel found that Kevin Spacey had long-standing common law trademark rights in his name, which had acquired secondary meaning. (NAF Claim No: FA0103000096937)

  • Stevie Wonder: Stevland Morris a/k/a Stevie Wonder was successful in a domain name action to reocver www.steviewonder.com based on his United States and foreign registered rights in the STEVIE WONDER trademark. (NAF Claim No: FA0504000453986)

  • Tiger Woods: Tiger Woods succeeded in recovering the domain name www.tigerwoodslifestyle.com based on his United States registered trademark TIGER WOODS. (NAF Claim No: FA0902001245906)